40th Anniversary Richard M. Fulrath Award Symposium on “Frontiers of Ceramics for Sustainable Society” | The American Ceramic Society

40th Anniversary Richard M. Fulrath Award Symposium on “Frontiers of Ceramics for Sustainable Society”

The Richard M. Fulrath award was started in 1978 to promote technical and personal friendships between Japanese and American professional ceramic engineers/scientists and encourage understanding among the diverse cultures surrounding the Pacific Rim. In its 40-year history, this award has made major contributions in this area. All the Fulrath award winners have made significant contributions to various areas of ceramic science and technology development which is critically needed for a sustainable society. As an increasing global population drives to improve its standard of living, the demand for energy, healthcare, housing, transportation, and industrial products also grows rapidly. However, the higher demand and production in all these areas leads to a dramatic increase in the overall consumption of resources and rate of pollution leading to climate change that creates the risk of irreversible changes in ecosystem. New technologies and innovative solutions are required to address these needs. This symposium will address the critical role of advanced ceramic materials and technologies in solving various societal challenges.

The technical program will cover wide ranging topics and identify key challenges and opportunities for various ceramic technologies in creating sustainable development.

  • Ceramics for sustainable energy and environmental systems
  • Ceramics in medicine and human health
  • Ceramics for sustainable transportation and infrastructure
  • Advanced ceramic technologies in AI, IoTs, and Big Data
  • Role of advanced ceramic technologies in solving global water problems
  • Global resource management for sustainable development
  • Emerging ceramic materials and technologies
  • Ceramic education, mentoring, global outreach, and collaborations

All past Fulrath award winners from Japan and USA, over the last four decades, are invited to make invited presentations in their specific areas of interest and highlight specific contributions they have made to better the lives of people and promote the technical exchange and friendships.

Symposium Organizers
  • Michael C. Halbig, NASA Glenn Research Center, USA
  • Kiyoshi Shimamura, National Institute of Materials Science, Japan
  • M. Singh, Ohio Aerospace Institute, USA
  • M. Naito, Osaka University, Japan
  • Elizabeth Dickey, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Y. Imanaka, Fujitsu Corporation, Japan
  • Tadachika Nakayama, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
  • Akira Ando, Murata Manufacturing Co., Japan
Points of Contact