MAX and MAB phases are thermodynamically stable nanolaminates of early transition metals carbides, nitrides, and borides. For example, MAX phases are hexagonal materials with an inherent layering at nanoscale. This structure is responsible for a unique combination of metal and ceramic-like properties. Some of them are machinability, good electrical and thermal conductivity, high thermal shock resistance, stable oxidation scale formation, and rigidity at high temperature, which can have diverse potential applications.

It was recently shown that it is possible to selectively etch atomic metal layers out of a structure to separate each nanolaminates block of transition metal compounds to form 2D solids. Despite their relatively short history, MXenes (the 2D phase after removing A layers from MAX phases) have attracted attention of scientists due to their attractive properties such as excellent electronic conductivity, surface functionality, and tunability, among others.

The symposium will focus on designing, processing, structure-property relationships, thermal, electrical, optoelectronic, solid lubrication, mechanical properties, oxidation resistance, stability, and applications of these novel nanolaminates compounds in their 2D and 3D forms. In addition, exploratory research on related ternary chemistry is also invited.

Proposed sessions

  • Design of novel compositions and manufacturing methods
  • Methods for improving damage tolerance, oxidation, and thermal shock resistance
  • Novel applications and device fabrication (electrochemical energy storage, biosensors, etc.) of MAX/MAB phases and MXenes
  • Study of electronic, optical, plasmonic, and thermoelectric properties
  • Theoretical calculations for designing and predicting behavior of MAX/MAB phases and MXenes
  • Nuclear applications of MAX phases


  • Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota, USA,
  • Miladin Radovic, Texas A&M University, USA,
  • Konstantza Lambrinou, SCK – CEN, Belgium
  • Jochen M. Schneider, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Jie Zhang, Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Thierry Cabioch, Université de Poitiers, France
  • Sylvain Dubois, Université de Poitiers, France
  • Per Eklund, Linköping University, Sweden
  • Johanna Rosen, Linköping University, Sweden
  • Jesus Gonzalez, RWTH Aachen University, Germany