Functional nanomaterials with intrinsically new and tailored properties are key elements for developing sustainable solutions for energy, environment, and health. Specifically, this symposium will focus on new energy technologies and devices based on inorganic, hybrid, and composite materials. Particular emphasis will be given to novel synthesis approaches, surface functionalization, and heterostructuring of nanoparticles, nanowires, and nanoscopic films, fundamentally new properties, and energy-efficient materials synthesis. Applications of nanostructures in photocatalysis, photovoltaic, energy, sensing and bio-medical applications that combine advanced processing with conceptual advancement will form the major thrust areas.

Contributions related to energy applications such as perovskite materials, batteries, fuel cells, water splitting, and carbon dioxide conversion as well as transparent conductors and challenges related to large-scale production and integration of functional and structural nanomaterials are highly desired.

Proposed sessions

  • Synthesis, functionalization, and assembly of inorganic and hybrid nanostructures
  • Nanomaterials for energy conversion, storage, and catalysis
  • Metal oxide nanostructures for sensing, batteries, and water-splitting applications
  • Nanomaterials for photocatalysis, solar hydrogen, and thermoelectrics
  • Nanotoxicity, drug-delivery, and tissue engineering with tailored nano-bioconjugates
  • Functional coatings on glass and innovative thin film techniques (e.g., ALD, PECVD)
  • Industrial production and application of nanomaterials and coatings
  • Carbon nanostructures, 2D materials, and metal chalcogenides
  • Computational methods in the design of tailored nanostructured materials
  • Interfacial materials and multi-material heterostructures and nanocomposites


  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany,
  • Muhammet Toprak, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Shashank Mishra, University of Lyon, France
  • Thomas Fischer, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Hidehiro Kamiya, University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
  • Silke Christiansen, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany
  • Sedat Ballikaya, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
  • Gunnar Westin, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Flavio de Souza, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
  • Daniel Chua, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Yasuhiro Tachibana, RMIT, Australia