Register now for EMA 2015

 Conference program

Meeting Description

ACerS Electronic Materials and Applications 2015 closed the book on its sixth successful meeting in Orlando, Fla.  Held January 21–23, the event featured 11 comprehensive symposia and plenary talks from Kent Budd, 3M; Greg Rohrer, Carnegie Mellon University; and Hiroshi Funakubo, Tokyo Institute of Technology.

EMA 2015 Summary Report
Published on January 27th, 2015 | By: April Gocha, PhD

Who Attended

EMA 2015 was designed for scientists, engineers, students, researchers and manufacturers with an interest in materials for electronics, energy and sensor applications. The programming included a mix of industrial, university and federal lab participants, discussing theoretical, experimental, applied, and unifying approaches.


The technical program included plenary talks, invited lectures, contributed papers and poster presentations, and open discussions, as well as networking opportunities to facilitate future collaborations, scientific, and technical advances. Symposia emphasized ferroelectrics, piezoelectrics, and dielectrics; thermoelectrics; superconductors; photovoltaics and LED’s; energy generation and storage systems; human energy generation and use; NEMS/MEMS; graded materials; and data storage applications. Other themes included thin film and bulk materials processing; device fabrication; green processing and sustainable materials; novel characterization methods; nanoscale electronics and mechanics; and interfacial effects and engineering.

A separate student-run symposium also featured graduate and undergraduate student research, sponsored by ACerS President’s Council of Student Advisors, providing development and networking opportunities for the next generation of scientists.

Meeting Organizers
Tim Haugan Shen Dillon
Geoff Brennecka
Tim Haugan (ED)

US Air Force Research Lab

Shen Dillon (BSD)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Geoff Brennecka (ED)

Colorado School of Mines

Division Leadership
Electronics Division

Timothy J. Haugan, Chair
Haiyan Wang, Chair-elect
Geoff Brennecka, Vice chair
Brady Gibbons, Secretary
Rick Ubic, Secretary-elect

Basic Science Division

Bryan Huey, Chair
Shen Dillon, Chair-elect
Xingbo Liu, Vice chair
Dunbar Birnie, Secretary

The American Ceramic Society values diverse and inclusive participation within the field of ceramic science and engineering. ACerS strives to promote involvement and access to leadership opportunity regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, age, sexual orientation, nationality, disability, appearance, geographic location, career path or academic level.

EMA 2015 Links

Conference program