Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

S13: Advanced Ceramics and Composites for Sustainable Nuclear Energy and Fusion Energy



Ceramics and ceramic composites continue to attract growing attention as the key enabling materials for the safer and sustainable nuclear energy and for future fusion energy systems. This symposium provides a venue for material scientists and nuclear engineers to discuss the opportunities and needs for advanced ceramics and composites in such energy systems, and the current state-of-the-art science and technology of these materials ranging from materials design, processing and properties to their performance in harsh nuclear environments. We will also debate prospects of their commercial development, and qualification and licensing requirements. This symposium is co-sponsored by the ACerS Nuclear and Environmental Technology Division.


Preliminary Speaker Session


Proposed Symposium Topics

  • Ceramics and composites technology for accident tolerant LWR fuels and core
  • Ceramic and carbon composites for hightemperature reactors and other fission reactor concepts
  • Ceramics and composites for detection of nuclear radiation
  • Joining and coating for reactor components
  • Ceramics and refractory composites for fusion blanket and divertor
  • Graphite and carbon materials
  • Novel ceramics and composites for nuclear and fusion
  • Crystalline, amorphous and composite materials for waste immobilization
  • Fuel reprocessing and management of fission product elements
  • Fundamental science of radiation damage, defect production, evolutions, and interactions
  • Theory, modeling, and simulation of radiation defects
  • Fuel and cladding evolution and performance modeling
  • Codes and standards, design methodology

Symposium Organizers

  • Josef Matyas, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA, +1 (509) 372-6023
  • Yutai Katoh, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA, +1 (865) 576-5996
  • Tatsuya Hinoki, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Weon-Ju Kim, Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea
  • Monica Ferraris, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Steve Gonczy, Gateway Materials Technology, USA
  • Lance Snead, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Veena Tikare, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
  • William J. Weber, University of Tennessee, USA
  • Ted Besmann, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Izabela Szlufarska, University of Wisconsin, USA
  • Kevin Fox, Savannah River National Laboratory, USA

Back to Symposia


Back to Top ↑