Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

G1: Powder processing innovation and technologies for advanced materials and sustainable development




Coorganized with the Society of Powder Technology, Japan, and Society for the Promotion of Science 124th Committee, Japan


Slight differences in powder processing can significantly influence material microstructure and properties. Consequently, understanding and control of powder processing techniques are critical to the design and fabrication of high-performance, reliable advanced materials and composites. Additionally, innovations in powder processing and characterization technologies are critical to develop advanced materials and composites with optimized functionality, including advanced materials for sustainable development.


In this symposium, materials and process scientists and engineers with interdisciplinary expertise in powder processing and characterization technologies will discuss powder processing control and innovative powder technologies, including powder synthesis and dispersion; particle design; powder shaping (molding and sintering); and innovative characterization or analytical techniques for advanced ceramics, ceramic composites, and advanced materials for sustainable development.


Proposed session topics:


• Particle and powder design and synthesis

• Fabrication of composite particles and particle coating technology

• Particle dispersion control in liquid or polymers

• Novel shaping, forming, and sintering technology, including additive manufacturing

• Nanostructure and microstructure control

• Composite or porous structure control

• Low-cost and energy-saving processing of advanced ceramics and ceramic composites, including smart recycling of materials for sustainable development

• Advanced characterization and analytical techniques for powder processing and materials




Makio Naito, Joining and Welding Research Institute Osaka University, Japan

Junichi Tatami, Yokohama National University, Japan

– Masayoshi Fuji, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan

– Yuji Hotta, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan

– Ewsuk Kevin, Sandia National Laboratories, USA

– Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany

– Yoshio Sakka, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan

– Koichi Yasuda, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

– Di Zhang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China


Back to Symposia

Back to Top ↑