Glass & Optical Materials Division: Norbert J. Kreidl Award | The American Ceramic Society Skip to content

Glass & Optical Materials Division: Norbert J. Kreidl Award

The Norbert J. Kreidl Award for Young Scholars, recognizing research excellence in glass science, is open to all degree-seeking graduate students (MSc or PhD) or those who have graduated within a twelve month period of GOMD meeting in New Orleans, LA, USA May 17-21, 2020. A letter from a faculty advisor verifying compliance to this rule must accompany the application. The selection is based on an extended abstract of the nominee’s work (approximately 2,000 words plus figures) relevant to interests of the Division.

The Nominating Process
All applicants are required to submit two abstracts:

  1. Submit one short abstract on the ACerS online abstract submission site for the GOMD annual meeting. Contact Marilyn Stoltz at for access if the November 20, 2019 GOMD abstract deadline has passed. This short abstract will be used in organizing the technical program of the meeting and in publication of the meeting’s abstracts.
  2. Submit an extended abstract of the same title, (2,000 words maximum plus figures and tables) to the GOMD Division Chair Jincheng Du for evaluation by the Kreidl Award Committee. Deadline for this submission is January 21, 2020. Note that the extended abstract (and faculty advisor letter) is required for consideration of the nominee by the Kreidl Award Committee.

The winner of the Kreidl Award will be asked to present his/her lecture at a special Awards Session at the 2020 GOMD meeting. The presentation may be co-authored by a faculty advisor but the technical work must be conducted by the student. The winning presentation will be given by the student only.

The winner receives a check for $500, a certificate, and a commemorative glass piece.

Attendance at the GOMD meeting to present the Kreidl lecture is a requirement, so only those who can attend the meeting should apply.

Nominations should be sent electronically to:

Jincheng Du
University of North Texas

Deadline for Nominations:

January 21 annually