Geijsbeek, Cooper, Henry, Hoffman awards: nominations due May 15 | The American Ceramic Society

Geijsbeek, Cooper, Henry, Hoffman awards: nominations due May 15

While January 15th was the deadline for most award nominations, there are four prestigious Society and Division awards that have a May 15, 2016 deadline. Award eligibility for each can be found at    


NEW! The Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award 

This new award recognizes individuals who are members of the Pacific Rim Conference (PACRIM) societies, for their contributions in the field of ceramics and glass technology that have resulted in significant industrial and/or academic impact, international advocacy, and visibility of the field. Industrial candidates will be evaluated based on the technology development and commercialization, and the development’s current usefulness and importance, its uniqueness, and its economic significance. Two Geijsbeek awards will be presented at PACRIM 2017. The Geijsbeek Award consists of a certificate and $1,000 honorarium.  

Glass & Optical Materials: Alfred R. Cooper Scholars Award

This award recognizes undergraduate students who have demonstrated excellence in research, engineering, and/or study in glass science or technology. The recipient will receive a plaque, a check for $500 and a free MS&T registration.

Electronics: Edward C. Henry Award

This award is given annually to an outstanding paper reporting original work in the Journal of the American Ceramic Society or the Bulletin during the previous calendar year on a subject related to electronic ceramics. The author(s) will be presented with a plaque and $500 (split between authors).

ElectronicsLewis C. Hoffman Scholarship

The purpose of this $2,000 tuition award is to encourage academic interest and excellence among undergraduate students in the area of ceramics/materials science and engineering. The 2016 essay topic is “Electronic Ceramics for Electrical or Electromagnetic Energy Control.”   

Additional information and nomination forms for these awards can be found at  Contact Marcia Stout at if you have questions