MST20 Ricardo Castro Fellow

[Image above] Past ACerS president Sylvia Johnson (2018–2019) presents the 2019 Class of Fellows with plaques at MS&T19 in Portland, Ore.

WESTERVILLE, Ohio, June 15, 2021: The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) will elevate 17 members to Fellow Status this year. The Fellow designation recognizes ACerS members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society.

“These Fellows are inspirational and are among the most experienced and knowledgeable in our profession. They have dedicated their careers to moving ceramic and glass science and technology forward either by technical achievement or with their activities in support of the Society. I thank them for their individual and collective accomplishments and remarkable contributions of service to the Society,” says Dana Goski, ACerS president.

The awards will be presented at the Society’s Annual Honor and Awards banquet, Oct. 18, 2021, in Columbus, Ohio, during the ACerS Annual Meeting held at the Materials Science and Technology Conference, October 17–21, in Columbus, Ohio.

The 2021 Class of Fellows include:

  • Arvind Agarwal, Florida International University
  • Csaba Balázsi, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Suresh Baskaran, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Emmanuel E. Boakye, UES Inc
  • Alicia Durán, Instituto de Ceramica y Vidrio
  • Wolfram Höland, Ivoclar Ltd (retired)
  • Amitabha Kumar, Boral IP Holdings LLC
  • Cato Laurencin, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Anne Leriche, University of Valenciennes
  • Jeffrey Rickman, Lehigh University
  • Federico Rosei, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique
  • Paul Salvador, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Tobias Schaedler, HRL Laboratories LLC
  • Hisayuki Suematsu, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
  • Tohru Suzuki, National Institute for Materials Science Japan
  • Setsuhisa Tanabe, Kyoto University
  • Alberto Vomiero, Luleå University of Technology

Media contact

Eileen De Guire

  • Director, Technical Content and Communications
  • 614-794-5828

About ACerS

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 10,000 members from more than 70 countries.