Recap and photos from Cements Division meeting in Austin, Texas | The American Ceramic Society

Recap and photos from Cements Division meeting in Austin, Texas

Last week’s Cements Division meeting and symposium focused on computational tools applied to cement research and development. Here, David Lange, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, asks Ed Garboczi a question at the end of the Della Roy Lecture. Credit: ACerS.

Last week the ACerS Cements Division held its annual meeting at the University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas. The theme of the June 10-12 meeting was “3rd Advances in Cement-based Materials: Characterization, Processing, Modeling and Sensing.”

Edward Garboczi, NIST Fellow, Materials and Construction Research Division, gave the Della Roy award lecture, “The Computational Materials Science of Concrete: Past—Present—Future,” to an audience of about 100 attendees. Overall, there were 35 presentations, including three invited tutorial workshop presentations and 35 posters (32 presented by students). The workshop theme was “Novel Experimental and Computational Tools,” and the presenters were Rolf Arvidson and Rouzbeh Shahsavari, both from Rice University and Jeffrey Chen from Lafarge Centre de Recherche.

The Division also awarded its 2011 Brunauer Award for the best paper published on cements in 2010 to Jeff Bullard of NIST and Robert Flatt of Sika Technology, AG, Switzerland.

The meeting was organized by Zach Grasley, Maria Juenger and Jeff Chen in coordination with the Center for Advanced Cement-based Materials

Here are a few pictures from the event in Texas, provided by meeting organizer and UTA associate professor, Maria Juenger, and ACerS staffer, Marcia Stout.

Jeff Bullard, NIST, accepts the Brunauer Award for the best paper on cements published during 2010 from Paramita Mondal, Division Chair. Robert J. Flatt, co-author on the article, was not able to attend the meeting. Credit: ACerS.

The six winners of the student poster contest are (left to right) Feraidon Ataie, Kansas State Univ.; Sriramya Nair, Univ. of Texas at Austin; Syeda Rahman, Texas A&M Univ.;Nathan Mayercsik, Georgia Institute of Technology; Natalia Shlonimskaya, Tennessee Technological Univ. and Craig Hargis, Univ. of California, Berkeley. Credit: ACerS.

Ed Garboczi (right), NIST, accepts the 2012 Della Roy Lecture Award from Zach Grasley (left). Garboczi’s lecture was titled “The Computational Materials Science of Concrete: Past-Present-Future.” Credit: ACerS

One of the 35 posters presented at the Cements Division meeting. Credit: ACerS.

The poster session attracted 35 posters, of which 32 were presented by students. Credit: ACerS.

Graduate student Zeynep Basaran from the University of Texas at Austin makes a point during her presentation. Credit: M. Juenger; UTA.