The purpose of the The Education and Professional Development Council (EPDC) is to stimulate, promote, and improve education and professional development within the ceramic and glass community.

The Young Professionals Network (YPN), President’s Council of Student Advisors (PCSA), and Keramos continue to work closely with the EPDC to coordinate efforts and meet common goals.

For faculty working in ceramics and glass: ACerS can help you earn professional recognition, gain access to the latest technical information, and build the professional networks necessary for success. 

Learn more below about how ACerS can help advance not only your career but also your students careers by visiting Resources for Faculty.

Join the Education and Professional Development Council (EPDC) as a member

If you have an interest in education or professional development initiatives, join us as a member of the EPDC. Additionally, EPDC members are eligible for special awards (see more information on awards below).

You may join this growing community by logging in to your ACerS Personal Snapshot and marking "EPDC" under the Interest Groups and Communities tab.

If you have any difficulties with this process, or have any additional questions please contact ACerS Customer Service at 1-866-721-3322 or 1-240-646-7054 (outside the U.S.).

ACerS Education and Professional Development Council (EPDC) Awards

Apply for one or more of the following EPDC awards by the annual deadline of March 1! Gain visibility and recognition while building your CV with ACerS.

ACerS offers even more awards! Chances are that you may qualify for additional awards. View the entire list of awards to see which apply to you.

EPDC Rules


Download the EPDC Rules

2022-2023 Education and Professional Development Council (EPDC) Committee Representatives

2021-2023 EPDC Co-Chair

Steven Naleway

2022-2024 EPDC Co-Chair

Brian Gorman

EPDC Standing Committees

EPDC Awards Committee

Jürgen Rödel, 2020-2025
Helen Chan, 2023-2024 (filling vacancy)
Santanu Das, 2021-2026
James Hemrick, 2022-2027
Shiv Prakash Singh, 2023-2028

material advantage Committee (MAC)

Marissa Reigel
R. Allen Kimel
Edmund Moore
Amanda Krause

Accreditation Committee

Grant Norton, Chair
William Mullins
Bill Hammetter
Harrie Stevens
Darryl Butt
Janet Callahan

ACerS board of directors class liaison

Todd Steyer

ACerS staff liaison to the epdc

Yolanda Natividad

EPDC Mentor Program sub-committee

STUDENT program

Michael Thuis
Kartik Nemani
Pattiya Pibulchinda
Mike Modde
John Bussey
Steven Naleway
Brian Gorman

FACULTY program

Krista Carlson
Amanda Krause

Caio Bragatto
Geoff Brennecka
HaiTao Zhang
Steven Naleway

INDUSTRY program

Ashley Hilmas
Mathieu Hubert
Iva Milisavljevic
Edmund Moore
Kathryn Goetschius
James Hemrick

EPDC Collaborative Group Representatives


Geoff Brennecka
Holly Bentley

PResident's council of student advisors (PCSA)

Michael Thuis
John Bussey

Young Professionals Network

Christopher Kassner, 2022-2024
Alessandro De Zanet, 2023-2025