Nominations needed for 2017 Society awards! | The American Ceramic Society

Nominations needed for 2017 Society awards!

ACerS is committed to running a thriving Awards Program that recognizes the contributions of deserving individuals and companies within the ceramics and glass community. To accomplish this, we need your help to increase the pool of qualified nominees. ACerS members are among those best qualified to know who the deserving candidates are, therefore, please consider submitting a nomination or urging others to do so. We want to assure that the selection committees have a broad group of nominees to draw from.

We urge you to review the awards below and submit nominations by January 15, 2017. Please note that even if your nominee does not get selected this year, that for most awards, he or she will be reconsidered for future years. Thanks for your help with this important request. Details on all of these awards can be found at

Lifetime achievement or service awards:

Distinguished Life Membership
W. David Kingery Award
John Jeppson Award
Greaves-Walker Lifetime Service Award

Corporate awards:

Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology
Corporate Environmental Achievement Award
Corporate Technical Achievement Award.

The Fulrath Awards include 3 industrial winners

General awards: 

Global Ambassador Program. Nominations may be submitted at any time throughout the year.

Young professional awards:

Richard M. Fulrath Awards
Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award
Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professional Award

Lecture awards:

Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science and Technology Lectures (deadline September 1, 2017):

Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture 

Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture
Arthur L. Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture Award
Robert B. Sosman Award 

Best paper awards:

Ross Coffin Purdy Award (submit articles published in 2015
Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award

Educator and student awards:

Ceramic Education Council Outstanding Educator Award 

Now is the time to start lining up sponsors, drafting nominations and submitting them for consideration for awards that will be presented at the Annual Meeting, October 2017 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Visit the awards web page for criteria and eligibility.   Contact Erica Zimmerman with questions.