MST break_lo res

MST Fellows_lo res

ACers 2014 Class of Fellows. Credit: ACerS.

Bon jour from the beautiful city of Montreal, Canada where I’ve been attending the 115th Annual Meeting of the American Ceramic Society and the Materials Science and Technology 2013 conference! A record-breaking attendance of more than 3,200 materials scientists, engineers, vendors, and students from around the globe are here to report on their work, learn about the latest technologies, network, and conduct Society business.

ACerS held its 115th Annual Meeting yesterday, and president Richard Brow reported that the Society’s financial health is excellent and that the Society will be undertaking some exciting new initiatives. David Green was formally invested as president when Brow passed him the ceremonial ceramic gavel. A gala banquet Monday evening gave  the Society the opportunity to honor its awardees including the 2013 Class of Fellows and new Distinguished Life Members, Katherine Faber, Ludwig Gauckler, and Gary Messing.

The Society conducts much of its business in committee, division, and board meetings behind the scenes, which has kept members hustling between the plenary session (see Jim’s report), technical sessions, special lectures, and Society business meetings.

Here is a visual sampling of this year’s conference. Enjoy!

MST booth_lo res

The ACerS lounge is a favorite destination for members to take a break, meet other members, get a cup of coffee, or take a spin of the prize wheel. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST BOD meeting

ACerS 2012-2013 Board of Directors met on Saturday to conduct the Society’s business. Pictured (for the last time in these roles, left to right), past president George Wicks, president Richard Brow, and president-elect David Green. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST PCSA_lo res

Richard Brow with the President’s Council of Student Advisors. Derek Miller, left of Brow, finished his term as president of the PCSA at this Annual Meeting. (Credit: ACerS.)

MSY Rustum Roy Hench_lo res

On Sunday, Larry Hench brought a scientist’s mind and a philosopher’s logic to inform the current issue of affordable healthcare in the United States. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST glass course_lo res

Arun Varshneya taught his short course, “Fundamentals of Glass Science,” to a full class the weekend before MS&T. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST session_lo res

A technical session—the heartbeat of MS&T. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST Cooper

Seated: Cooper Award speakers Alexandra Navrotsky and Maxwell Marple. Standing from left are Steve Martin, Cooper Session speakers Mark Ediger and Takashi Odagaki, and session chair Prabhat Gupta. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST attendees_lo res

Attendees check the program for conference events. (Credit: ACerS.)

MST banq leaders_lo res

ACerS leadership at the awards banquet. Seated from left: President David Green, Kay Green, and Donna Wicks. Standing from left: Executive director Charlie Spahr and Lorraine Spahr, Theresa Brow and past-president Richard Brow, president-elect Kathleen Richardson, and George Wicks. (Credit: ACerS.)