Brunauer Best Paper Award

This award is presented for the best scientific paper on the topic of cement and concrete published by ACerS during the previous year.

         2019 award

"A critical comparison of 3D experiments and simulations of tricalcium silicate hydration," Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 101(4), 1453-1470 (2018)

By: Jeffrey Bullard, John Hagedorn, Tyler Ley, Qinang Hu, Wesley Griffin, & Judith Terrill

Brunauer Recipient List 2019

L.E. Copeland Award
This award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the development and understanding of cement and concrete science. Presentation of this award is considered whenever the Copeland Award Committee feels that there is a suitable candidate. 

Della Roy Lecture and Award

The Della Roy lecturer is selected each year by the division executive committee. The recipient does not need to be a member of the Cements Division or the Society at large.

2019 Della Roy Lecturer:

David Lange, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Lecture Title: Beyond the Science

Interview with David Lange

2018 Della Roy Lecturer:

Jan Olek, Purdue University

Lecture title and link:  Green concrete – the past, the present and the future

Interview with Jan Olek

2011-2017 Della Roy Lecturers


2019 Poster Session Awardees

Robbie Damiani, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mechanical property of foam concrete with recycled crumb rubber

Christina Siakati, KU Levuen, Belgium
Modelling the impact of chemical variability on the nanostructure of iron-rich slags

Sarah Williams, University of Colorado Boulder
Engineered living mortars: Structural hydrogel scaffolds that enhance microbial biocementation

Baishakhi Bose, Purdue University
Influence of silica-polyacrylamide hydrogel particles on the microstructure and mechanical properties of internally cured cement paste

Aniruddha Baral, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Self-cleaning and NOx removal of photocatalytic cements

YouTube Research Video Contest Awardees

Karthik Pattaje, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Controlling 3D Printable Concrete with Vibration

Nima Hosseinzadeh, University of Miami 
Hydration, strength and shrinkage of cementitious materials mixed with brine