ACerS Electronics Division Research Highlights | The American Ceramic Society

ACerS Electronics Division Research Highlights

Neamul H. Khansur and coauthors Tadej Rojac, Dragon Damjanovic, Christina Reinhard, Kyle G. Webber, Justin A. Kimpton, and John E. Daniels received the 2016 Edward C. Henry Award for their publication in the Journal of the American Ceramic Society, “Electric-Field-Induced Domain Switching and Domain Texture Relaxations in Bulk Bismuth Ferrite.” Khansur authored the paper while a Ph.D. student in Professor John Daniels’ group at UNSW, after which he was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg.

Bismuth ferrite, BiFeO3, is an important multiferroic with potential applications in many proposed functional devices. While thin films of BiFeO3 are attractive for applications in nanoelectronics, bulk polycrystalline BiFeO3 has great potential as a lead-free and/or high-temperature electro-mechanical transducer material. However, the structural mechanisms of the response in bulk BiFeO3 are still to be resolved. Here we report the microscopic origin of electric-field-induced strain in bulk BiFeO3 ceramic up to 14 kV/mm applied electric field by means of in situ high-energy X-ray diffraction. Detailed analysis of the diffraction data highlights that, in spite of the strain/applied field ratio similarities in bulk and thin film BiFeO3, the origin of strain response in film and bulk of BiFeO3 is different.

If you would like to see your group’s work highlighted, please contact Elizabeth Paisley, Sandia National Laboratories