EMSD Outstanding Student Researcher Award

The Outstanding Student Researcher (OSR) Award recognizes exemplary student research related to the mission of the Energy and Materials Systems Division (EMSD) of The American Ceramic Society (ACerS).

The award is open to U.S. and international graduate and undergraduate students actively engaged in research related to the EMSD. Specifically, applicants must have submitted an abstract to the annual conference in the year for which the applicant is applying. It is strongly encouraged that undergraduate submissions present extracurricular projects only, i.e., research conducted outside the normal scope of one’s coursework.

Click here for award submission instructions and application.

Deadline for submission is July 31, 2022.

For more information, contact:
Allen Apblett

D.T. Rankin Award

This award recognizes a member of the Energy Materials and Systems Division who has demonstrated exemplary service to the division. The award honors Tom Rankin’s memory and service to the division, and will be presented at the division business meeting held in conjunction with the ACerS Annual Meeting.

Recent award winners:
2020: Kevin Fox
2019: Connie Herman, Savannah River National Laboratory
2018: Allen Apblett, Oklahoma State University
2017: Alex Cozzi, Savannah River National Laboratory
2016: Theodore M. Besmann, University of South Carolina
2015: S.K. Sundaram, Alfred University
2014: Jim Marra, Savannah River National Laboratory
2013: Vijay Jain,Savannah River Remediation
2012: Dennis Bickford, Savannah River National Laboratory (retired)
2011: John Marra, Savannah River National Laboratory
2010: William R. Jacoby
2009: George Wicks, Savannah River National Laboratory
2008: T.B. Lindemer, GCR Fuel Consultant

Contact for nomination information:
Dr. S. K. Sundaram, Ph: (607) 871-2789