Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

December 7th, 2010

2010 F. H. Norton Award Dinner

The New England Section of The American Ceramic Society selected Dr. Chandra P. Khattak, VP, Technology, at ARC Energy Corporation as the 2010 F.H. Norton Distinguished Ceramist Award recipient. The Section award recognizes an individual for “significant contributions to the field of ceramics and/or service to the New England Section”. The highly-anticipated ceremony dinner was held at the Courtyard by Marriott on November 17, 2010. Dr. Khattak entertained the audience with his presentation on ceramic materials for clean energy technologies, silicon crystal and sapphire. This concluded the well-executed calendar year of 2010 for the New England Section.


Dr. Khattak received his Ph.D. degree from State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1973. In 1977, he joined Crystal Systems, Inc. where he took the silicon ingot production technology from concept through commercialization. This technology was licensed to GT Solar for large scale commercialization and was the springboard for GT’s IPO in 2008 where the Company was valued at 2.3 billion dollars. In addition to silicon, Dr. Khattak was actively involved with large diameter sapphire growth, new laser materials, development of low silicon feedstock, compound semiconductors, etc. In 2006, Khattak joined GT Solar and was involved in developing new products using DSS technology. He retired from GT earlier this year. Currently, he heads the Technology group at ARC Energy, supplier of equipment for sapphire processing.


Dr. Khattak has over 170 technical publications and over 15 patents. He has edited two books on Photovoltaics, written invited chapters, arranged seminars, etc. He is Emeritus member of The American Ceramic Society and member of American Association of Crystal Growth, American Physical Society, American Society for Metals, Materials Research Society.


2010 F. H. Norton Award winner Dr. Chandra P. Khattak (with engraved glass bowl) with past awardees

2010 F. H. Norton Award winner Dr. Chandra P. Khattak (with engraved glass bowl) with past awardees

Back to Previous Page

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑