Colorado Section | The American Ceramic Society

Colorado Section

The Colorado Section includes ACerS members in the state of Colorado.

2019 Section Officers:

Chair:  Sandrine Ricote

Secretary: Scott Thompson

Treasurer: Nate Orloff

Student Chair: Eric Marksz


Meetings and Events


Colorado Section to Co-Host Event at university of denver


Join us for an informational lecture and networking event, co-sponsored by the Colorado Section of ACerS and ASME, on Thursday, April 25, 2019, at 6:30 p.m.

Steve Ford will present information on his research on both explosives and ballistics. He will describe several experiments that were done at the University of Denver's Applied Research and Technology Institute with high speed videos and images from flash x-ray.

Following the presentation, we will gather for dinner and networking at the nearby restaurant, The Pioneer.

Date:  Thursday, April 25, 2019

Time:  6:30 p.m..

Location: Engineering & Computer Science Building, 2155 East Wesley Avenue, Room ECS300

Attendees should allow 15 to 20 minutes to park and walk to the venue.  Click here for a map of the area.

The lecture is free. Attendees will be responsible for the cost of their dinner.

Please RSVP for the lecture to Sandrine Ricote.



Students in Industry Day 2019!

In conjunction with ASME, the Colorado Section of ACerS has organized the Students in Industry Day Program, through which mechanical and materials science engineering students are paired with local businesses to observe and work with experienced engineers.  While shadowing an engineer, students will be able to learn about the company and what engineers do on a day-to-day basis.

When:  February 20 - 22, 2019

Dinner: 6:30 - 9:30 p.m., February 22

Where: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Mercantile Room, 1634 18th Street, Denver, Colorado

Cost: $20 for students; $30 for members; $35 for non-members

Click here for more information!


Ski Day 2019!

A great time was had by all on February 8 for Ski Day 2019 at Loveland Ski Area!




Section Sponsors Free Tour, Presentation, and Networking Event

The Colorado Section of ACerS joined with ASME to provide a FREE tour of Wings Over the Rockies (WOTR) and presentation on Thursday, November 1, 2018.  Guest speaker Stephen Kelly presented information on the Apollopalooza 50th celebration in 2019, when WOTR will celebrate the first moon landing.   After the tour and presentation, attendees moved over to the Lowry Beer Garden for a standing social!

Colorado Section holds Inaugural Meeting

The newest ACerS Section held its kick-off meeting on Thursday, September 27, 2018, 6-8 p.m., at CoorsTek Center for Advanced Materials in Golden, CO.  A welcome message and opening remarks were given by Sandrine Ricote, Chair of the Colorado Section, which was followed by a CoorsTek presentation. Nearly 40 participants enjoyed a tour of the new research and development facility, led by CoorsTek engineers.  Light appetizers and beverages were provided by CoorsTek.