Section_horizontal-logo_Eastern Tenn

The Eastern Tennessee Section serves ACerS members in Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Cumberland, Fentress, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Washington and White counties.

Section Officers


Chair: James Hemrick, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Treasurer: Ryan Ginder, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Secretary: Kenneth Kane, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Advisor: Camden Hubbard, Applied Diffraction Services

If you would like to contact any of the Eastern Tennessee Section officers, log in and visit the ACerS online membership directory for contact details. You must be a member to access the directory. Or contact Karen McCurdy at

Meetings and Events

The ACerS Eastern Tennessee Section was approved by the ACerS Board of Directors in May 2021.

"The sentiment here in East Tennessee is this is a section that has long been needed to connect the people at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the University of Tennessee, and other industry and academic professionals who work with ceramic materials to their American Ceramic Society peers.  We look forward to growing engagement in the society through the activities of this section.", Dr. James Hemrick, Eastern Tennessee chair.

Check this page frequently for updates and events.