This Section covers Michigan and the following counties of northwest Ohio:  Allen, Auglaize, Crawford, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Williams, Wood, Wyandot, and Van Wert.  Primary interests are in the automotive and glass industries, but all are welcome!  We are proud to present the Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award annually.



Chair:  William Walker, Jr.

Vice Chair:  Position open

Treasurer:  Position open

If you would like to contact Bill Walker, visit the ACerS online Membership Directory for contact details. You must be a member to access the directory. Or, you may contact Vicki Evans at who will assist you.


Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section attends Toledo Mudhens Baseball Game

Members of the Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section got together to watch and cheer on the Toledo Mudhens as they took on the Columbus Clippers on September 14, 2023. Guests gathered at The Coop and enjoyed free tickets into the game along with buffet style food service and a variety of beverages.

2023 Mudhens Game (cropped)

Longtime ACerS Member and Section Treasurer, Fred Stover, passes away

ACerS has learned of the passing of Fred Stover in November 2019. We send our sincerest condolences to his family. We appreciate his longtime dedication and support of the Michigan/NW Ohio Section. His obituary can be viewed at

Call for Nominations -- 2020 Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award!

The Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section is soliciting nominations for its Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award.  The annual award recognizes distinguished scientific, technical, or engineering achievements in glass or ceramics.  Other criteria:

  • There are no limitations regarding age, nationality, sex, or membership in The American Ceramic Society or the Section.
  • A nominee must be living, but exceptions may be made by recommendation of the selection committee and officers of the Section.
  • This is a singular award. Nominations for multiple awards will not be accepted.

Selection of the winner will be based on the evidence of achievements in glass or ceramics that accompanies the nomination.  Persons nominating should send a single-page cover letter describing the qualifications of the nominee, with no more than three additional pages of supporting information.

If a nominee is not selected for the award in the year following the nomination, that nominee's name is put on an "active list" for consideration with all other active nominations in each of the following three years.  If unsuccessful after three years, a new nomination must be submitted.

The award consists of an engraved glass piece and a certificate, and will be presented at an award dinner in April 2020. Time, date, and location to be determined.

Nominations are due by November 30, 2019.   Please contact Dave Boothe at or 419-878-4691 for more information on how to submit a nomination.

The Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award Dinner

The Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section of The American Ceramic Society held its annual award dinner and presentation on Thursday, April 19, 2018 at the Heatherdowns Country Club in Toledo, Ohio.

The Section presented its Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award to Dr. Lisa C. Klein of Rutgers University.  When Dr. Klein arrived at the School of Engineering, she was the first woman in the school hired to a tenure track position.  When she received tenure in 1981, she was the first woman tenured in the School. In 1993, she was promoted to Distinguished Professor, and in 1998, she received the Achievement Award of the Society of Women Engineers for her work in sol-gel processing.  She enjoys teaching undergraduates and graduate students, and her favorite subject is kinetics.

Dr. Klein’s research interests center on the synthesis and processing of ceramics and glasses using the sol-gel process. Her research specifically focuses on processing the conditions for forming gels for optical applications, porous membranes, electrochemical devices, such as fuel cells, smart windows and hermetic seals.

Dr. Klein is a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society.

Bill Walker, Section Chair, presents the award to Dr. Lisa Klein.

Dr. Klein during her presentation, "Moon Rocks and Melting Gels: My Four (plus) Decades of Fascination with Glass".

The 2018 Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award

Meetings & Events

Check back for upcoming meetings and events!


Download Past Winners Here

ACerS Ceramic and Glass Career Center

ACerS Meetings

Back to Sections