Sections_Horizontal-logo_Southern California.jpg

The Southern California Section serves ACerS members in Los Angeles, Orange, Santa Barbara, Riverside, Ventura, Imperial, San Bernadino and San Diego counties.

Section Officers


Chair: Toby Schaedler, HRL Laboratories

Treasurer: Ellen Heian

Secretary: Ryan McCarty, SAFCell

If you would like to contact any of the Southern California Section officers, log in and visit the ACerS online membership directory for contact details. You must be a member to access the directory. Or contact Karen McCurdy at

Meetings and Events

Southern California Section plans virtual career panel

October 5, 2022

4 p.m. Pacific Time

The Southern California Section of the ACerS is planning a virtual panel to introduce local companies that are active in the field of ceramics to students and job candidates.

Each company listed below will give a brief intro, including what they are doing and what their hiring needs are.

All interested students (undergraduate and graduate) as well as anybody else interested in working at these companies is invited.

Join the virtual meeting at this link.

Meeting number (access code): 2763 275 9680

Meeting password: ySPQMZC*256 (97776920 from phones)



Southern California Section virtually hosts ACerS President Beth Dickey

ACerS President Beth Dickey virtually presented  "Point defect migration in metal oxides" to the Southern California Section on May 2 at California Institute of Technology. Technology enabled the presentation to pivot to virtual after a last minute change of plans.

Over 30 ACerS members and non members enjoyed the presentation and networking. Graduate students who were not ACerS members were granted complimentary Global Graduate Researcher Network (GGRN) memberships courtesy of the Southern California Section.

Resized Cropped presentation
Resized Toby
Resized Group
Outdoor SoCal

Southern California Section hosts inaugural event on February 12, 2022

The Southern California Section hosted its inaugural event on February 12, 2022 at the HRL Laboratories in Malibu, California. Ceramics and glass professionals in Southern California enjoyed networking, a lab tour and planning of future events.

Resized SoCal 1
Meetings and Events

The ACerS Southern California Section was approved by the ACerS Board of Directors in October  2021.