St. Louis Section | The American Ceramic Society

St. Louis Section

The St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society was founded in 1965.





Chair:  Chris Perry, Christy Refractories  314-773-7500

Vice Chair: Zach Hall, AluChem of Little Rock, 501-486-9106

Treasurer: Patty Smith, Missouri S & T, 573-341-6265

Secretary: Ed Reeves, 314-369-1833

Counselor: Kent Weisenstein, 636-479-7770



Dues of $5 per year can be paid on your annual ACerS membership renewal form. Be sure to include your complete mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and your email address.


Meetings and Events


St. Louis Section Plans Fall Meeting

The St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society will hold its fall meeting on Friday, November 2, 2018, at Matt’s Steakhouse in Rolla, MO.

The meeting will begin with a tour of Mo-Sci Corporation, a world leader in high-quality precision glass technology. Following networking and dinner, the featured speaker will be Dr. Kathy Flores, Associate Director of the Institute of Materials Science and Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis.

The tentative agenda:

5:30 – 6:30 p.m. — Tour of Mo-Sci Corporation

7:00 – 7:30 p.m. — Drinks and appetizers at Matt’s Steakhouse

7:30 – 8:30 p.m. — Dinner at Matt’s Steakhouse

8:30 – 9:00 p.m. — Presentation by Dr. Flores

Click here to register or contact Patty Smith at 573-341-2071


St. Louis Section/Refractory Ceramics Division 55th Annual Symposium of Refractories: March 28 – 22, 2019

Details forthcoming!



St. Louis Section/RCD 54th Annual Symposium of Refractories:  March 20 – 22, 2018

The St. Louis Section and the Refractory Ceramics Division of The American Ceramic Society sponsored the 54th Annual Symposium on Refractories on the theme “Refractories for the Cement, Glass, and Minerals Manufacturing Industry” on March 21-22, 2018. View full program here. The meeting took place in St. Louis, Missouri, at the Hilton St. Louis Airport Hotel. Co-program chairs were Andrew Domann of Bucher Emhart Glass and Steven Ashlock of Kyanite Mining Corporation.



All ACerS Meetings


The Theodore J. Planje – St. Louis Refractories Award Winners

2017 Winner: Andreas Buhr, Almatis GmbH

2016 Winner: Bjørn Myhre, Elkem Silicon Materials

2015 Winner: Victor C. Pandolfelli, Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil

2014 Winner: Jeffrey D. Smith, Missouri University of Science and Technology

2013 Winner: J.P. Willi, Sunset Refractory Services, LLC

2012 Winner:  Rick Volk, UNI-REF, Inc.

2011 Winner: Rob Crolius – The Refractories Institute

2010 Winner: James L. Hill, Retired – ANH Refractories

2009 Winner: James W. Stendera, Vesuvius USA

Nomination deadline for 2018 Award: December 1, 2017

In December 1967, the St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society announced the establishment of  “The St. Louis Refractories Award.” This has been provided in Article XII of the by-laws of the St. Louis Section “for the purpose of recognizing and honoring distinguished achievement in the refractories field.”

In March 1982, the St. Louis Section voted to amend Article XII of the by-laws. The award was renamed “The Theodore J. Planje — St. Louis Refractories Award” in honor of his many contributions.

Nominations received after December 1, 2017 will be held for the following year. To request a nomination form, please contact Patty Smith at P: (573) 341-6265, F: (573) 341-6151.


ACerS Career Center

ACerS Meetings

Back to Sections