The DC/MD/NoVa Section of The American Ceramic Society encompasses the following areas:

Washington DC: All eight wards

Maryland Counties: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore City, Baltimore, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince Georges, Queen Annes, Saint Marys, Somerset, Talbot, Washington, Wicomico, and Worcester

Northern Virginia Counties: Albemarle, Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William

Section Officers:

Co Chair: Victoria Blair, US Army Research Laboratory

Co Chair: Ed Gorzkowski, Naval Research Laboratory

Secretary: Lavina Backman, Naval Research Laboratory

Treasurer: Brian Donovan, US Naval Academy

If you would like to contact any of the Washington DC/Maryland/Northern Virginia officers, visit the ACerS online membership directory for contact details.  You must be a member to access the directory. Or contact Karen McCurdy at for assistance.

All ACerS Meetings

ACerS Career Center

Back to Sections

Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland All Section Meeting
minutes and notes from August 19, 2022

The Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland All Section Meeting was August 19, 2022. The Executive Committee reviewed the proposed By Laws changes. The new ByLaws can be reviewed at this link.

The Executive Committee ask the section membership to review these changes and respond by September 6, 2022. Questions and comments should be directed to Victoria Blair at or to ACerS staff liaison, Karen McCurdy at

No response is considered acceptance of the By-Laws.

Click this link for the complete meeting minutes. Please note these discussion topics from the all section meeting:

  • The officer nomination process will now be a rolling nomination process until all positions through the end of the year.
  • The D & I Representative has been added to the leadership roster.
  • A Meet and Greet Social Networking Event at the National Mall is being planned.
  • Thesis Thursdays has been rebranded Student Spotlight. Presentations will be ad hoc. This is a good opportunity for section students to practice their presentations. A Google form will soon be posted on the webpage for presentation submissions. Student Spotlight presenters can receive a free GGRN membership!
  • Coming soon! The section will be sponsoring MS&T conference registrations. Details to follow.
  • The section is looking for champions within specific organizations that can help with outreach on a local level. for the section within the geographic area. For example, a POC at specific organizations that can help advertise to the local level. We welcome feedback from these champions about how best to serve their organization.

Section awards MS&T conference registraitons

Congratulations to University of Virginia PhD students Clark Luckhardt and Mackenzie Ridley for being awarded MS &T conference registrations by the Washington DC/Maryland/Northern Virginia Section.


Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland Section hosted meet and greet

The section gathered virtually on June 16, 2021. The Meet and Greet was an opportunity to network and share ideas until in person meetings can begin again.

Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland Section hosts networking event in conjunction with Material Advantage Congressional Visits Day

The Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland section hosted a virtual networking event on Thursday, April 22 as part of the Congressional Visits Day. CVD is an opportunity for MA students to educate Congress about the importance of research in material sciences, engineering, and manufacturing. 
The networking event was followed by a presentation by Dr. Eric Van Gieson, DARPA, Advances in Personal Protection (PPE) Strategies and Technologies, sponsored by ASM International.