Anil V. Virkar is Distinguished Professor and H. Kent Bowen Endowed Chair of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah. He received B. Tech (Hons) in Metallurgical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai, India (1967); M. S. in Engineering Mechanics from Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, in (1969); and Ph. D. in Materials Science from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois in (1973). He joined the University of Utah in (1973) as a postdoctoral fellow; was appointed Research Assistant Professor in (1974); Assistant Professor in (1976); Associate Professor in (1979); full Professor in (1984); Distinguished Professor in (2007) and H. Kent Bowen Endowed Chair in (2015), all in Materials Science and Engineering. He served as the Department Chair between (1998) and (2011). He has published over 250 paper, has received over 35 patents. His fields of research included processing of ceramics, fracture mechanics of ceramics, phase transformation mechanisms and kinetics of ceramics and transport in ceramics. He is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) (2007); Fellow of National Academy of Inventors (NAI); Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (2006); Fellow of ASM International (2010) and has received Utah Governor’s Medal of Science and Technology (2006). He has been a member of the American Ceramic Society since (1969). His primary affiliation is the with Basic Science Division. He became Fellow of the American Ceramic Society in (1992). He has received Ross-Coffin Purdy Award (1993); James Mueller Award (2013) and John Jeppson Award (2013). His current research focus is on solid oxide fuel cells and electrolyzers, lithium ion conductors, and electrochemical failure of solid electrolytes.