Cato T. Laurencin | The American Ceramic Society

Cato T. Laurencin

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. is Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Connecticut. He is the Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery. Dr. Laurencin is a University Professor at UCONN. He is the 8th to be designated in UCONN’s over 130 year history.

Dr. Laurencin earned his B.S.E. in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University and his Ph.D. in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he was named a Hugh Hampton Young Fellow. Dr. Laurencin earned his M.D., Magna Cum Laude, from the Harvard Medical School. 

Named one of the 100 Engineers of the Modern Era by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Dr. Laurencin is a recipient of the Founder’s Award from the Society for Biomaterials, and the Pierre Galletti Award from the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. . He has been awarded the Percy Julian Medal by the National Organization of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChe). Dr. Laurencin is a member of the editorial boards of 25 journals, and is the Editor-in-Chief of Regenerative Engineering and Translational Medicine.  He is the recipient of the Rustom Roy Lectureship at ACerS.

Dr. Laurencin has two awards named in his honor: The Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. Travel Fellowship Award given by the Society for Biomaterials, and The Cato T. Laurencin Lifetime Research Achievement Award given by the W. Montague Cobb Cobb/National Medical Association Health Institute.

Dr. Laurencin is an elected member of both the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine. Internationally, he is an elected Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the India National Academy of Engineering and the India National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Laurencin is an Academician and Member (Foreign) of the Chinese Academy of Engineering.