Dr. Cesarano is currently the President of Robocasting Enterprises LLC which he founded in 2007 in Albuquerque, New Mexico and serves on the Board of Trustees for Alfred University.

He received a BS Suma Cum Laude in Ceramic Engineering from Alfred University in 1983 and an MS in Ceramic Engineering and PhD in Materials Science from the University of Washington in 1985 and 1989 respectively under the advisement of Prof. Ilhan Aksay.  He has been a Visiting Scientist at Oak Ridge National Labs, the Swedish Ceramic Institute, and Institute of Cristallography Russian Academy of Sciences.  From 1989 – 2007 he was a scientist with Sandia National Laboratories and served as an adjunct professor in the Department of Chemical and Nuclear Engineering at the University of New Mexico and in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at New Mexico Tech.

His research interests include colloidal science and manipulation of fine particles for the development of material manufacturing technologies and process improvement.  In 1996 he co-invented robocasting technology (aka Direct-Ink Writing) for extrusion-based additive manufacturing of ceramics.  His current focus is on commercialization of robocasting for large-scale manufacturing of ceramics and composites.  He has nine patents, and has authored approximately 99 technical papers.  His publications on polyelectrolyte stabilization of ceramic particles are used in Materials Science curriculums and have been cited over 1,400 times.

In 1999, Robocasting Technology was noted as one of the 50 notable achievements in the fifty-year history of Sandia National Laboratories.  Robocasting publications have been featured cover stories for the Ceramics Bulletin, the Journal of Applied Ceramic Technology, and Langmuir.  In 2002, robocasted lattice structures was selected as one of the nine most interesting materials achievements by Chemical & Engineering News.

An ACerS Member since 1983, he is affiliated with the Basic Science and Manufacturing Divisions, is a past organizer of The Rio Grande Symposium on Advanced Materials and was elevated to ACerS Fellow in 2018.