Dr. Timothy Haugan is a Sr. Research Physicist, Team Leader, and Program Manager in the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), Aerospace Systems Directorate (AFRL/RQ).  He received a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from SUNY-Buffalo in 1995, an M.S. in Physics from Washington State University in 1986, and a B.S. in physics/mathematics from Whitworth University in 1983.  He has worked in the field of electronic/photonic-ceramic materials for 33 years, including 18 years at AFRL. 

He served in the ACerS Electronics Division as a subcommittee-leader/officer from 2004 to 2016, co-chaired 11 Symposia/Conferences at ACerS MS&T and EMA conferences, and co-authored over 100 presentations at ACeRS conferences.  He is co-author of > 150 papers with > 2,800 citations, and co-author of > 500 presentations including many invited, and 4 US patents.  His research team has a focus for both basic/applied research and technology development, and has received the AFRL/AFOSR Laboratory Star Team Award a record six times since 2000; given only to the top 10% of labs at AFRL supported by AFOSR.  One paper published in the highest-impact journal Nature in 2004 has over 800 citations, and is believed to be the only 1st-author paper from AFRL published in Nature or Science; and, is one of two ‘seminal’ papers that started the field of RE-Ba-Cu-O flux pinning. 

Present research interests cover a wide range of materials and device technologies, with potential application for high electric power aerospace systems.  A special interest is in superconductivity/cryogenics materials and devices development.  He has received many awards from USAF organizations, including the 2009 USAF Outstanding Scientist-of-the-Year Mid-Career Civilian, 2009 USAF-AFMC Mid-Career Civilian Scientist-of-the-Year, and 2016 USAF Sr. Scientist and Engineer 1st Quarter Finalist.