Vince Harris has assumed a multiplicity of roles during his professional career including engineer, physicist, inventor, educator, entrepreneur, S&T manager, and policy analyst.

He presently holds positions as University Distinguished Professor and William Lincoln Smith Chair Professor at Northeastern University (Boston, MA USA), expert policy analyst for the U.S. Department of State (Washington DC USA), and CEO and Chairman of Metamagnetics Inc. (Marlborough, MA USA).

His professional preparation includes the B.Sc. and M.Sc. in mechanical engineering, and the Ph.D. in electronic materials from Northeastern University. Additionally, he received graduate degrees in engineering and technology management from the University of Maryland and the University of Pennsylvania (Wharton Business School).

Harris remains active in the research and development of magnetoceramics for more efficient power storage, conversion, and conditioning operations in support of data center energy efficiency, power electronics, and electric vehicles, among others. This research has resulted in the publication of more than 420 peer-reviewed science and engineering articles that have been cited in the literature nearly 17,000 times. He also holds more than 25 patents or patent applications.

For his scholarship activities, he has been recognized with the ACerS’ Edward C. Henry Award (2020); The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society’s (TMS) Distinguished Scientist Award (2016); Chinese Academy of Sciences’ Lee Hsun Research Award for Seminal Contributions to Materials Science (2013); and as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer (2011).

He has been elevated to Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (F-IEEE), American Physical Society (F-APS), American Association for the Advancement of Science (F-AAAS), Fellow, Institute of Physics (F-Inst. of Phys.), and the National Academy of Inventors (F-NAI), among other societies of distinction. He has served as both Fulbright and Jefferson Science Fellow.

Harris actively serves as a subject matter expert to the U.S. Congress, Department of State, Office of the Secretary of Defense, Department of Energy, DARPA, Department of Defense, NSF, The National Academies, NASA, NATO, and other government agencies and NGOs.