Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

August 27th, 2015

GOMD, Cements, Electronics and NETD present division awards

GOMD and Cements held their annual meetings in May and July, respectively, and presented several awards. Electronics and NETD will present awards at the 117th Annual Meeting held in conjunction with MS&T15. Congratulations to these deserving winners!  


Cements Division

Della Roy Lecture:

Hamlin Jennings

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Jennings passed away shortly before he was to have presented the Della Roy lecture. His colleagues instead presented a video tribute that highlighted his many contributions to cements.   


Student Poster Winners:

Daniel I. Castaneda, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sakineh Ebrahimpourmoghaddam, Rice University

Kai Gong, Princeton University

Joshua Hogancamp, Texas A&M University

Morteza Khatib, Oklahoma State University

Ghazal Sokhansefat, Oklahoma State University

Lori E. Tunstall, Princeton University


Electronics Division

Edward C. Henry Award: 

Winning paper: “Thermodynamics of ferroelectric solid solutions with morphotropic phase boundaries

published in Journal of the American Ceramic Society  97 [6] 1661-1685 (2014)

by Adam A. Heitman and George A. Rossetti, Jr., University of Connecticut  


Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship:
Kyle M. Grove

Colorado School of Mines


Glass & Optical Materials Division

Alfred R. Cooper Scholar Award Winner:

Emily M. Aaldenberg

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, New York

Lecture title: Dynamic Fatigue of Ion-Exchanged Glass


Alfred R. Cooper Distinguished Lecturer:
Martin C. Wilding

Aberystwyth University, Wales

Lecture title: Exploring the Structure of High Temperature Liquids with High Energy X-Rays


Student Poster Award Winners:

1st place, undergraduate student: Antoine Bréhault, University of Rennes 1, France

1st place, graduate student: Chandrasiri A. Ihalawela


Co-2nd place, graduate student:
Katharina Philipps, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Mouritz N. Svenson, Aalgorg University, Denmark


Co-3rd place, graduate student:
Yuxuan Gong, Alfred University, New York

Kirsten Hellmann, RWTH Aachen Institute of Mineral Engineering

Antoine Lepicard, University of Central Florida


Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division

D.T. Rankin Award:

S.K. Sundaram, Alfred University, New York


Best Paper Award:

“Uptake of Uranium by Tungstic Acid” by Hamed Albusaidi, Cory K. Perkins, and Allen W. Apblett, Oklahoma State University

Paper presented at MS&T 2014



Back to Previous Page

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑