The Anna O. Shepard Award, honors this scientist’s pioneering work in the analysis and description of pottery and ceramics from 1930 to 1973. Her technical foundation serves to integrate multiple methods of analysis in order to describe the chemical, physical and crystallographic properties of art and archaeological materials, the geological and natural resources used in their fabrication, and the archaeological and artistic interpretation of these data.

This award is presented by the AACS Division Executive Committee of ACerS to an individual(s), who has made outstanding contributions to materials science applied to art, archaeology, architecture, or cultural heritage. The contributions could be an artistic creation, an archaeological study, or significant materials research. Neither ACerS nor AACS membership is required to receive this award.

The Anna O. Shepard Award consists of a certificate of recognition, a $500 honorarium, and a one-year membership in ACerS and the AACS Division for the award recipient(s).

Selection criteria will emphasize:

  • interrelated scientific inquiry and archaeological/cultural heritage materials study;2
  • collaborative and original approach to analytical methods;
  • investigation of interdependent relationships among chemical, physical and mineralogical properties of geological and environmental resources and material production;
  • experimental reverse engineering of materials in field or laboratory settings;1, 2
  • and / or significance to the nominee’s field.

Nomination process:

Submit the candidate’s curriculum vitae and a cover letter electronically to the AACS Division Chair by January 15 annually.

Patricia McGuiggan
2019-2020 AACS Division Chair


1 Shepard, A. O. Ceramics for the Archaeologist. Publication 609, Carnegie Institute of Washington, Washington D.C., fifth edition (1965).

2 Shepard, A. O. “Ceramic Analysis: The lnterrrelations of Method; The Relationships of Analysts and Archaeologists.” Science and Archaeology, Edited by R. L. Brill, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, 55–63 (1971).

Deadline for Nominations:

January 15 Annually