This ACerS/Education and Professional Development Council (EPDC) lecture honors the memory of Arthur L. Friedberg for his teaching, research and numerous contributions to the ceramic engineering profession. In addition to his work at the University of Illinois, Dr. Friedberg was also the Executive Director of The American Ceramic Society from 1979 to 1984.

The lecture is intended to provide a tutorial that reviews and instructs in some area of ceramics with a distinct engineering flavor. The lecture is presented at a level that is accessible to all ceramists. The award for this prestigious lecture is a certificate commemorating the engineering and professional contributions made to the ceramics professions by Dr. Friedberg.

The Nominating Process:The annual lecturer is selected by committee. Nominations must be in writing and consist of at least a paragraph of 150 words, but not more than 5 pages in length, and can include supporting documents such as the Nominee’s CV. The nomination describes an individual who has made some outstanding contributions to ceramic engineering. Those contributions will have a technological basis that relates to the processing or manufacturing of ceramic products. The awardee must be a member of both EPDC and ACerS. Nominations will be considered for a period of five years.

Mail or email nominations to:

Erica Zimmerman
The American Ceramic Society
550 Polaris Parkway, Suite 510
Westerville, OH 43082
Phone: 614-794-5821
Fax: 614-794-5881

Deadline for Nominations:

January 15th annually