The Tadashi Kokubo award is presented annually to a deserving individual(s) in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the field of bioceramics research and development. Professor Tadashi Kokubo is a pioneer of innovation in the field of bioactive glasses and glass-ceramics and is particularly known for his invention of simulated body fluid and Cerabone® (Apatite-Wollastonite glass-ceramic).

The award will be presented at the ACerS Annual Meeting/MS&T. The awardee shall receive a certificate, glass piece, and complimentary registration. In addition, the awardee will receive the invitation of a lecture, which will be presented in a bioceramics-focused symposium at the meeting.

Nippon Electric Glass Co., Ltd. (NEG) expects that research in the field of bioceramics will progress globally with the establishment of this award. NEG is pleased to support the Bioceramics Division’s Tadashi Kokubo Award through a donation.

The major criteria used in selecting the recipient of this award is:

(1) the individual’s contribution to the field of Bioceramics in terms of scholarly research publications/ patents/ technology commercialization, including translational research (bench to bedside).

(2) the individual’s contributions to outreach activities, including organizing bioceramics-specific sessions at major international conferences and technical events, global young professional forum, and other professional events, which should have enhanced the visibility of the field of bioceramics.

A nominee must be 45 years old or younger at the time of award presentation (October of the award year) and is required to be a member of The American Ceramic Society.

Nominations are to be recommended by a sponsor, who is a standing member of The American Ceramic Society.

The nomination profile should include:

  • A nomination letter by the sponsor
  • Nominee’s latest CV
  • Two supporting letters

The deadline for nominations is February 28 in the year preceding the MS&T conference.

Nominations, including a written statement of the nominee’s qualifications and contributions, should be sent to the division chair:

Kalpana Katti
North Dakota State University

Deadline for Nominations:

extended to February 28

Award Winners