The advancement of new technologies in recent decades has enabled a variety of new in situ/in-operando techniques to study the materials behavior and microstructure evolutions in real time. The external stimulus can be in many forms, including heating or cooling, mechanical stress, light exposure, electric or/and magnetic fields, reactive gas or liquid environments, ion irradiation etc. By capturing the real-time materials evolutions under certain external stimulus using in situ/operando characterization techniques, we can understand the functionality and device operation mechanisms fundamentally in their proposed working environments, which undoubtedly facilitate the development of novel material systems and devices for various technological applications.

This symposium focuses on the recent progress and development of using in situ/operando techniques to characterize functional and structural materials and devices. These techniques use photon, electron, neutron, and X-ray to probe materials and devices, including but not limited to transmission electron microscopy (TEM), neutron diffraction/reflectivity, atomic force microscopy, synchrotron techniques and so on.

 Proposed Sessions

  • In operando study of advanced functional materials including transition metal oxides, transition metal dichalcogenides, halide perovskites and so on.
  • Study of electronic materials such as Mott insulators, dielectrics, ionics, ferroics, semiconductors, superconductors etc. using advanced characterization techniques.
  • In operando study of device performances and behaviors including batteries, fuel cells, solar cells, memristors, memory devices and so on.
  • Study of nanomaterial-based catalysts at reactive environments
  • Real-time investigation of mechanical properties in structural materials.
  • Advances in developing in situ characterization techniques related to electron microscopy, X-ray, and neutron characterization techniques.

Symposium Organizers

  • Di Zhang, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA,
  • Yue Cao, Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Alessandro Mazza, Materials Science and Technology Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA,
  • Jie Jian, Harbin Institute of Technology (Shenzhen), China,