Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

September 22nd, 2017

Michigan / Northwest Ohio Section

Published on September 22nd, 2017 | By: Belinda Raines


This Section covers Michigan and the following counties of northwest Ohio:  Allen, Auglaize, Crawford, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Williams, Wood, Wyandot, and Van Wert.  Primary interests are in the automotive and glass industries, but all are welcome!  We are proud to present the Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award annually.



William J. Walker, Jr.
P: (419) 535-2210
F: (419) 535-2041





Fred Stover
P: (419) 878-0001


Vice Chair
Position open.

Contact Jan Bailey or Fred Stover if you are interested or have someone to nominate.


Ed Boulos

Troy, MI 48098
P: (248) 643-7541


Jan Bailey
P: (248) 348-6585





Please check the appropriate box on the ACerS membership form. Section dues are $25.00.



Call for Nominations!


The Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section is soliciting nominations for its Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award.  The annual award recognizes distinguished scientific, technical, or engineering achievements in glass or ceramics.  Other criteria:

  • There are no limitations regarding age, nationality, sex, or membership in The American Ceramic Society or the Section.
  • A nominee must be living, but exceptions may be made by recommendation of the selection committee and officers of the Section.
  • This is a singular award. Nominations for multiple awards will not be accepted.

Selection of the winner will be based on the evidence of achievements in glass or ceramics that accompanies the nomination.  Persons nominating should send a single-page cover letter describing the qualifications of the nominee, with no more than three additional pages of supporting information.


If a nominee is not selected for the award in the year following the nomination, that nominee’s name is put on an “active list” for consideration with all other active nominations in each of the following three years.  If unsuccessful after three years, a new nomination must be submitted.


The award consists of an engraved glass piece and a certificate, and will be presented at an award dinner in April 2018.


Nominations are due by November 30, 2017.   Please contact Fred Stover at fstover@accesstoledo.com or 419-878-0001 for more information on how to submit a nomination.




The Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award Dinner


The Michigan/Northwest Ohio Section of The American Ceramic Society held its annual award dinner and presentation on Thursday, April 27, 2017, at the Heatherdowns Country Club in Toledo, Ohio.


Bill Walker, Section Chair, welcomed guests and introduced this year’s recipient of the Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award, Dr. Kang N. Lee. The Toledo Glass and Ceramic Award recognizes distinguished scientific, technical or engineering achievements in glass or ceramics. Dr. Lee is a pioneer in environmental barrier coatings for silicon based ceramics.  His current research focuses on development of advanced EBC for silicon carbide ceramic matrix composite (CMC) turbine hot section components and applying emission spectroscopic non-destructive evaluation techniques to these coatings.








Meetings & Events

Check back for upcoming meetings and events!





Download Past Winners Here



Job Opportunities

ACerS Ceramic and Glass Career Center



ACerS Meetings


Back to Sections






Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »

, , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑