Jan. 15th is 2016 award nomination deadline! | The American Ceramic Society

Jan. 15th is 2016 award nomination deadline!

ACerS is fully committed to running a thriving Awards Program that recognizes the contributions of deserving individuals and companies within the ceramics and glass community. To accomplish this, we need your help to increase the pool of qualified nominees.


ACerS members are among those best qualified to know who the deserving candidates are, therefore, please consider submitting a nomination or asking others to do so. We want to assure that the selection committees have a broad group of nominees to draw from.


We urge you to review the awards below and submit nominations by January 15, 2016. Please note that even if your nominee does not get selected this year, that for most awards, he or she will be reconsidered for future years.


Of special note are the four awards designed specifically for Corporate Members.


Lifetime achievement or service awards:
Distinguished Life Membership
W. David Kingery Award
John Jeppson Award
Greaves-Walker Lifetime Service Award

Corporate awards:

New! Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology
Corporate Environmental Achievement Award
Corporate Technical Achievement Award.

The Fulrath Awards include 3 industrial winners

General awards: 

New! Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award (nominations due May 15, 2016)

New! Global Ambassador Program. Nominations may be submitted at any time throughout the year.

Young professional awards:
Richard M. Fulrath Awards
Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award
Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professional Award 

Lecture awards:

Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture 

Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture
Arthur L. Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture Award
Robert B. Sosman Award (note: deadline moved from February to Jan. 15th

Best paper awards:
Ross Coffin Purdy Award (submit articles published in 2014
Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award

Educator and student awards:
Ceramic Education Council Outstanding Educator Award 
Du-Co Ceramics Scholarship 

Now is the time to start lining up sponsors, drafting nominations and submitting them for consideration for awards that will be presented at the Annual Meeting, October 2016 in Salt Lake City, Utah. Visit the awards web page for criteria and eligibility.   Contact Marcia Stout with questions.