Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

2nd Advances in Cement-based Materials: Characterization, Processing, Modeling and Sensing


Cements 2011


Final Program


Meeting Description  
The July 24-26 meeting will be hosted at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn. This year’s tutorial is Geochemical speciation modeling and transport processes applied to cement-based materials and will feature Barbara Lothenbach from EMPA, the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology. The Della Roy Lecture, sponsored by Elsevier, will be given by Karen Scrivener, Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Construction Materials at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland) and founder of the Nanocem Consortium. Review the complete Schedule. The 2nd Advances in Cement-based Materials: Characterization, Processing, Modeling and Sensing is co-organized by the Cements Division of ACerS and the Center for Advanced Cement-based Materials.


Technical Program

Authors will present oral and poster presentations on cement chemistry and nano/microstructure, advances in multiscale material characterization, alternative cementitious materials and material modification, multiscale concrete durability, advances in computational material science and chemo/mechanical modeling of cement-based materials, as well as smart materials and sensors. Review the Technical Program or download the Final Program for details.



Online registration is now closed. Please register onsite for Cements 2011.


On or Before

June 24, 2011


June 24, 2011

ACerS Member $210 $335
ACBM Member $210 $335
Nonmember $330 $445
Emeritus/Senior $175 $300
Material Advantage Student Member $40 $115
Student: Not in Material Advantage $65 $140



By co-locating with ACBM, the Cements Division will build upon our core audience, offer strong student activities for training and bring in new members.

Florence Sanchez

Program Chair

Vanderbilt University

Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

(615) 322-5135

Jason Weiss


Purdue University

Professor, Civil Engineering and Director, Pankow Materials Laboratory

(765) 494-2215

Kyle A. Riding


Kansas State University

Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

(785) 532 1578

Jeff Chen


Lafarge Centre de Recherche

Group Leader

+33 4 74 82 84 02


Cements Division Leadership

Division Chair: Zachary C. Grasley, Texas A&M University

Chair-Elect: Paramita Mondal, University of Illinois

Secretary: Benjamin Mohr, Tennessee Tech University

Trustee: Joseph J. Biernacki, Tennessee Technological Univ.


ACBM Leadership

Director: Surendra P. Shah
Associate Director: Jason Weiss


Cements 2011 Meeting Links:
Cements 2011 Home
Final Program
Hotel & Travel

Back to Top ↑