Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

S13: Advanced ceramics and composites for nuclear fission and fusion energy

Development of advanced materials and their application for safer and sustainable nuclear energy, including future fusion energy systems continues to progress and evolve. This international symposium provides a venue for scientists and engineers to discuss the opportunities and needs for key enabling materials in nuclear energy systems, including the most current and state-of-the-art science and technology ranging from materials design, processing, and properties to their performance in harsh nuclear environments. Also, included will be discussions on prospects and perspectives related to commercial development, and qualification and licensing requirements. The symposium is cosponsored by the ACerS Nuclear and Environmental Technology Division.


Proposed session topics

  • Material technologies for enhanced accident tolerance LWR fuels and core
  • Ceramic fuel materials, technologies, and characterization; TRISO fuels
  • Graphite and carbon materials for nuclear applications
  • Chemical compatibility and corrosion
  • Novel ceramics and composites for nuclear systems
  • Joining and coating for reactor components
  • Radiation damage, defect production, evolutions, and interactions
  • Plasma interactions of ceramics for fusion energy
  • Fuel, cladding, assembly, and core evolutions and performance modeling
  • Test methods, codes and standards, and design methodology


Symposium organizers

  • Yutai Katoh, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA; katohy@ornl.gov
  • Jake Amoroso, Savannah River National Laboratory, USA; jake.amoroso@srnl.doe.gov
  • Theodore Besmann, University of South Carolina, USA
  • Nicholas Brown, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Christian Deck, General Atomics, USA
  • Monica Ferraris, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Peter Hosemann, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Weon-Ju Kim, Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea
  • Takaaki Koyanagi, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Konstantza Lambrinou, SCK-CEN, Belgium
  • Takashi Nozawa, National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological
  • Science and Technology, Japan
  • Lance Snead, Stony Brook University, USA
  • Melissa Teague, Sandia National Laboratories, USA


Back to Top ↑