Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

SYMPOSIUM 7: 11th International Symposium on Functional Nanomaterials and Thin Films for Sustainable Energy Harvesting, Environmental and Health Applications



Functional nanomaterials with intrinsically new and tailored properties are key elements for developing sustainable energy solutions. New energy technologies and devices demand functional inorganic and composite materials and conceptual advancement that combine advanced processing, fundamentally new properties, and energy-efficient materials synthesis that will form the focus of this symposium. Particular emphasis will be given to novel synthesis approaches, surface functionalization, and heterostructuring of nanoparticles, nanowires, and nanoscopic films. Application of nanostructures in photocatalysis, energy and sensing applications, nanostructured coatings for photovoltaic, and biomedical applications will form the major thrust areas. Contributions related to energy applications such as perovskite materials, batteries, fuel cells, water splitting, and carbon dioxide conversion as well as transparent conductors and challenges related to the large-scale production and integration of functional and structural nanomaterials are highly desired.


Proposed Session Topics

  • Synthesis, functionalization and assembly of 1-D, 2-D and 3-D nanostructures
  • Inorganic materials and composites for energy harvesting and CO2 conversion
  • Metal oxide nanostructures for chemical and biological sensors
  • Functional nanostructures for energy conversion and storage and catalysis
  • Nanomaterials for photocatalysis, solar hydrogen, and thermoelectrics
  • Nanotoxicity, drug-delivery and tissue engineering with tailored nano-bioconjugates
  • Integration of functional metal oxide nanostructures in devices
  • Perovskites and other optical materials for light management
  • Innovative thin film techniques (e.g., ALD, PECVD)
  • Industrial production and application of nanomaterials and coatings


Symposium Organizers

  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Yoon-Bong Hahn, Chonbuk National University, Korea
  • Yakup Gönüllü, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Esko I. Kauppinen, Aalto University, Finland
  • Shiping Song, Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics, China
  • Hidehiro Kamiya, University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
  • Marlies van Bael, Hasselt University, Belgium
  • Alberto Vomiero, Luleå University of Technology, Sweden
  • Anja-Verena Mudring, Iowa State University
  • Mustafa Ürgen, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
  • Mohamed Siaj, University of Quebec and Montreal, Canada
  • Gunnar Westin, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Candan Tamerler, University of Kansas
  • Jih-Jen Wu, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • S. Khanna, IIT Bombay, India
  • Shaohua Shen, Xian Jiaotong University, China

Point of Contact

Sanjay Mathur: sanjay.mathur@uni-koeln.de

Back to Top ↑