Dr. William J. Weber is currently the Governor’s Chair Professor for Radiation Effects on Materials in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Tennessee, with a joint appointment at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He also serves as Director of the Ion Beam Materials Laboratory at the University of Tennessee. From 1977 to 2010, he was a member of the research staff at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) and was appointed Laboratory Fellow in 1997. In 2010, he joined the faculty at the University of Tennessee as the eighth Governor’s Chair. Dr. Weber is internationally recognized for his work on radiation effects and ion beam modification of ceramics. Much of his current research focuses on the use of ion beams to conduct fundamental studies of ion-solid interactions and radiation effects, to modify materials at the nanoscale for advanced technologies, and to perform accelerated testing of materials for extreme radiation environments. He holds one patent and has published over 550 journal articles, 113 peer-reviewed conference papers, 13 book chapters, and 54 technical reports.

Dr. Weber is a Member of the EU Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Materials Research Society, the American Physical Society and Ion Beam Society of India. He is a recipient of the Lee Hsun Lecture Award (IMR, Chinese Academy of Sciences), Outstanding Young Alumni Award and Distinguished Alumni Award (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh), the PNNL Laboratory Director’s Award for Individual Lifetime Achievement in Science & Technology; and the PNNL Chester L. Cooper Mentor of the Year Award. He has chaired over 30 international conferences, society symposia, and topical workshops, and he previously served as a principal editor for the Journal of Materials Research for 18 years. He received his BS (1971) in Physics from the University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, and his MS (1972) and PhD (1977) in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.