Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

ACerS Basic Science Division

Mission statement  


Our Mission: The Basic Science Division of The American Ceramic Society is dedicated to the development of the ceramic science underlying present and future applications of ceramics. The Basic Science Division fosters the scientific and technological foundations of ceramic science, identifying new areas in, and fields of, ceramic science critical to our current and future members.




ACerS Basic Science Division

Credit: Max Sang; Flickr; CC BY-NC-ND 2.0


 Meeting Spotlight  

February 20 – 24, 2017

Materials Challenges in Alternative & Renewable Energy (MCARE 2017)

Jeju, Korea


April 24, 2017

6th Ceramic Business and Leadership Summit

Marriott Airport  |  Cleveland, Ohio USA

ACerS Targeted Learning Workshops


April 25 – 27, 2017
3rd Ceramics Expo
I-X Center  |  Cleveland, Ohio USA

ACerS Targeted Learning Workshops


June 26 – July 1, 2016

9th International Conference on High Temperature Ceramic Matrix Composites (HTCMC 9)

Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel  |  Toronto, Ontario Canada


July 28 – July 31, 2016

Innovations in Biomedical Materials and Technologies

Rosemont Hyatt  |  Chicago, IL USA


July 31 – August 5, 2016

Gordon Research Conference on Ceramics and Solid State Studies

Mount Holyoke College  |  MA USA


August 21 – 26, 2016

International Congress on Ceramics (ICC6)

Dresden, Germany


Click here to view all upcoming ACerS meetings


Division leadership  

Chair: Shen Dillon | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign | Ph: (937) 231-0569

Chair-Elect: Xingbo Liu | West Virginia University | Ph: (304) 293-3339

Vice Chair: Dunbar Birnie | Rugers University | Ph: (848) 445-5605

Secretary: Paul Salvador | Carnegie Mellon University | Ph: (412) 268-2702


New BSD chair Shen Dillon presents a certificate of appreciation to outgoing chair Bryan Huey.

New BSD chair Shen Dillon presents a certificate of appreciation to outgoing chair Bryan Huey.


BSD officers: 2012-2018


Division rules   

Rules of the Basic Science Division



Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) Awards

Roland B Snow Award: Best of Show of the Ceramographic Contest

The Robert B. Sosman Award and Lecture



The Basic Science Division solicits technical topic areas of interest to our members and the future of ceramics.


If you have a topic area to add to this list, and want to be a champion for this area, please notify the BSD Program Chairs.

  • Materials and Process Modeling:  Veena Tikare
  • Measurements and Standards:  Chris Schilling, Ajit Jilla
  • Green (Environmentally Friendly) Processing:  Jim Adair, Shin-Ichi Hirano
  • Combinatorial Methods in Ceramics Research:  Debbie Kaiser, Lynne Schneemeyer
  • Colloids and Interfacial Chemistry Michael Hu, Vince Hackley
  • Power Sources – Fuel Cell and Batteries
  • MicroPorous Materials
  • Ceramics in Nanotechnologies:  Mark Deguire, Michael Hu, Jeff Brinker
  • Ceramics and Biology
  • BioMedical Materials:  Gary Fischman, Otto Wilson
  • Aging and Reliability in Ceramics:  Jill Glass
  • Electronic Structure of Ceramics
  • Chem-Mechanical Polishing and Tribology:  Said Jahanmir, Rob Sabia
  • Materials for Wireless Communication:  Duane Dimos, Mike Lanagan, Steve Freiman
  • Ceramics in Optical Communication:  Subhash Shinde
  • Light Weight Composites
  • Sensors and Actuators (MEMS)
  • Electrochemical Ceramics – Sensors and Catalysts:  Greg Rohrer, Xiaoqing Pan
  • Solid Free Form Fabrication
  • Novel Synthesis and Processing
  • Multi-Functional Materials
  • Ceramic Coatings:  Nitin Padture, Desiderio Kovar
  • Thin Films
  • Ceramics Joining:  Ivar Reimanis, Ron Loehman
  • Interfaces:  Vinayak Dravid, Xiaoqing Pan, Siu-Wai Chan
  • Sintering
  • Preceramic Polymers
  • Thermal Protection Materials:  Sylvia Johnson
  • Ceramic Armor and Window Materials
  • Layered Materials
  • High Temperature Composites
  • Fibers
  • Membranes and Filtration
  • Photovoltaics
  • Functionally Graded Materials
  • Photonic Crystals
  • Powder Mechanics:  Kevin Ewsuk, John Lannutti
  • Texture:  Gary Messing, Keith Bowman, Mark Vaudin


Job opportunities  

ACerS Career Center





Back to Top ↑
  • Member Communities

  • Member Resources

  • Upcoming Meetings

    • October 23, 2016MS&T’16: Materials Science & Technology Conference and Exhibition, combined with ACerS 118th Annual
    • November 7, 201677th Conference on Glass Problems (77th GPC)
    • January 18, 2017Electronic Materials and Applications – EMA 2017
    • January 22, 2017ICACC’17 – 41st International Conference and Expo on Advanced Ceramics and Composites

    AEC v1.0.4

    View all ACerS Meetings

  • Member News

    Read more