Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

March 26th, 2018

GOMD selects award lecturers for May meeting

The Glass & Optical Materials Division has selected six outstanding glass scientists to present award lectures at the GOMD Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas from May 20-24, 2018.  The speakers, listed below in order of their lecture, are: 


Stookey Lecture of Discovery: Monday, May 21, 8:00 am

Wolfram Höland  Ivoclar Vivadent AG; lecturer, ETH Zurich


Lecture title: Combinations of different nucleation and crystallization mechanisms to develop tailor-made glass-ceramics


George W. Morey Award: Tuesday, May 22, 8:00 am

Arun Varshneya, CEO, Saxon Glass Technologies, Inc. 


Lecture title: Chemically strengthened glass: Science, technology and its future


Norbert J. Kreidl Award for Young Scholars: Wednesday, May 23, 6:00 pm

Maxime Cavillon, Clemson University, USA


Lecture title: Fabrication of intrinsically low nonlinearity glass optical fibers


Tobias Bechgaard, Aalborg University, Denmark


Lecture title: Temperature-modulated differential scanning calorimetry analysis of high-temperature silicate glasses 


Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture: Wednesday, May 23, 8:00 am

Setsuhisa Tanabe, professor, Graduate School of Human and Environmental Studies, Kyoto University, Japan


Lecture title: Glass and rare-earth elements


Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Technology Lecture: Thursday, May 24, 8:00 am

Xiang-Hua Zhang, research professor, University of Rennes 1, France


Lecture title: Recent research trends of chalcogenide glasses and ceramics for infrared photonics and energy applications


Congratulations to these deserving winners. Register now for the GOMD Annual Meeting and hear the lectures for yourself! See you in San Antonio!     

Back to Previous Page

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑