Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Published on September 16th, 2014 | By: Eileen De Guire


The American Ceramic Society to install 2014–2015 officers, board members during 116th Annual Meeting at MS&T14

Published on September 16th, 2014 | By: Eileen De Guire


WESTERVILLE, OHIO—The American Ceramic Society (ACerS)—the leading professional organization for ceramics and glass professionals—will install its newly elected officers and board leadership during its 116th Annual Meeting on Monday, October 13, at the Materials Science and Technology 2014 (MS&T14) conference in Pittsburgh, Pa.


Kathleen Richardson, professor of optics and materials science and engineering at the University of Central Florida (Orlando), will serve as ACerS 2014–2015 president. She takes the reigns from David Green, professor emeritus of ceramic science and engineering at Pennsylvania State University (University Park), who will continue to serve on the board’s leadership as past president.


President-elect Mrityunjay (Jay) Singh, chief scientist at the Ohio Aerospace Institute NASA Glenn Research Center (Cleveland, Ohio); treasurer Daniel Lease, CFO, WT Holdings LLC (Fremont, Ohio); and secretary Charlie Spahr, executive director of ACerS, round out the slate of officers for 2014–2015.


The incoming leadership also includes three new Directors—Michael Alexander, vice president, research and development, Riverside Refractories Inc. (Pell City, Ala.); Geoff Brennecka, assistant professor, Colorado School of Mines (Golden, Co.); and Hua-Tay (H.T.) Lin, professor, Guangdong University of Technology (P.R. China), who will each serve three-year terms. They join returning board members Keith Bowman, professor and chair, Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago, Ill.); Elizabeth Dickey, professor and director of graduate programs, North Carolina State University (Raleigh, N.C.); John Halloran, professor, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Mich.); Vijay Jain, chief technology officer, Savannah River Remediation LLC (Aiken, S.C.); Edgar Lara-Curzio, distinguished research staff member and leader of the mechanical properties & mechanics group, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Oak Ridge, Tenn.); Tatsuki Ohji, prime senior research scientist, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Nagoya, Japan); and David Johnson, editor, Journal of the American Ceramic Society (Bedminster, N.J.), who serves as the board’s parliamentarian.


The Society’s Divisions and Class officers also will assume their new leadership roles effective with the ACerS Annual Meeting at MS&T14, October 12–16. The meeting is organized by ACerS in conjunction with the Association for Iron & Steel Technology, ASM International, and The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society.


For more information on ACerS leadership or the MS&T14 meeting, visit www.ceramics.org or www.matscitech.org.


About ACerS

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 9,000 members from more than 70 countries.


Contact: Eileen De Guire



Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »

, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑