Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

4th Advances in Cement-based Materials Archive

Cements Division Annual Meeting


Final Program


Meeting Description  

The 4th Advances in Cement-based Materials, hosted July 8-10, took place at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. There were 106 attendees. Cements 2013 was co-organized by the Cements Division of ACerS and the Center for Advanced Cement-based Materials. The 2013 Della Roy Lecturer was Prof. Leslie Struble from the University of Illinois, and she presented Calcium in Geopolymers. Monday afternoon’s tutorial, Probing the Structure of Hydration Products, featured Eric Landis, University of Maine; Rohit Bhargava, University of Illinois; Leslie Struble, University of Illinois; and Jeffrey Thomas, Schlumberger-Doll Research. On behalf of the Cements Division of The American Ceramic Society, congratulations to: Bernie O’hare, Rachel A. Steinle, Hayden Black, Pearl Kaplan, Michael W. Grutzeck and Alan J. Benesi, Evidence of Solid Water Bridges Found in Hydrating Tricalcium Silicate Paste. Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 2011. 94 (4): p. 1250–1255.


Technical Program  

The technical program covered these symposia:

  • Cement chemistry and nano/microstructure
  • Alternative cementitious materials
  • Rheology and Advances in SCC
  • Smart materials and sensors
  • Advances in material characterization techniques
  • Durability and lifecycle modeling
  • Advances in computational material science and chemo/mechanical modeling of cement based materials
By co-locating with ACBM, the Cements Division built upon their core audience, offering strong student activities for training and brought in new members.

Paramita Mondal
Program Co-Chair

Assistant Professor
University of Illinois

(217) 333-3069

David Lange

Program Co-Chair


University of Illinois

(217) 333-4816

Tyler Ley

Program Co-Chair

Associate Professor

Oklahoma State University

(405) 744-5257

Cements Division Leadership
Division Chair: Benjamin Mohr, Tennessee Tech University
Chair-Elect: Kyle Riding, Kansas State University
Secretary: Jeff Chen, Lafarge Ceutre de Recherche
Trustee: Joseph J. Biernacki, Tennessee Technological University

ACBM Leadership
Director: Jason Weiss


Back to Top ↑